Managing Data(bases) using SQL


You are here: [Managing Data(bases) using SQL Syllabus]

Printable Version

Managing Data(bases) using SQL: Course Syllabus Summer 2018

Class 1: Thursday, June 07, 2018
  • Overview of SQL
  • History of SQL
  • History of SQL Standards
  • Relational Database Theory, Normalization Rules
  • Basic CREATE TABLE statement
  • Primary/Foreign Key Constraints
Class 2: Thursday, June 14, 2018
  • Quiz 1(closed book)
  • Basic SELECT Statement
  • ORDER BY Clause
  • WHERE Clause
  • Concept of Null
  • DISTINCT Predicate
Homework 1 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, June 20, 2018 (Noon)

Class 3: Thursday, June 21, 2018
  • Quiz 2(closed book)
  • Numeric Data in SQL
  • Temporal Data in SQL
  • Character Data in SQL
  • Concept of Null
Homework 2 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, June 27, 2018 (Noon)

Class 4: Thursday, June 28, 2018
  • Quiz 3(closed book)
  • Complex Filtering of Data
  • SQL Expressions
  • Intersect, Difference, and Union of Sets
Homework 3 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, July 11, 2018 (Noon)

Class 5: Thursday, July 12, 2018
  • Quiz 4(closed book)
  • Inner Join
  • Inner Joins on more than 2 Tables
  • Outer Join
  • Non-Equi Join
  • Self Join
Homework 4 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, July 18, 2018 (Noon)

Class 6: Thursday, July 19, 2018
  • Quiz 5(closed book)
  • Aggregate Functions
  • Grouping Data
  • Filtering Grouped Data
Homework 5 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, July 25, 2018 (Noon)

Class 7: Thursday, July 26, 2018
  • Quiz 6(closed book)
  • SQL Subqueries
  • Subqueries as Column Expressions
  • Subqueries as Filter Expressions
  • Subqueries as From Clause Expressions
  • Correlated Subqueries
  • Subquery Factoring (WITH Clause)
  • Top-N Analysis
Homework 6 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, August 01, 2018 (Noon)

Class 8: Thursday, August 02, 2018
  • Quiz 7(closed book)
  • INSERT Statement
  • Multi-Table INSERT Statements
  • DELETE Statement
  • UPDATE Statement
  • MERGE Statement
Homework 7 Due Date/Time: Wednesday, August 08, 2018 (Noon)

Class 9: Thursday, August 09, 2018
  • Quiz 8(closed book)
  • Database Transactions and Locking
  • Overview of DDL
  • ALTER TABLE Statement
  • DROP TABLE Statement
  • Other Table DDL Statements
  • Constraints
  • Managing Views
  • Overview of DCL
  • Managing Users, System and Object Privileges
Final Take-Home Exam Due Date/Time: Thursday, August 16, 2018 (before Class)
Class 10: Thursday, August 16, 2018
  • Review of Final Exam
  • Hierarchical SQL
  • OLAP in SQL
  • Regular Expressions
  • GUI Tools to access Databases
  • Functions
  • Triggers and Stored Procedures
Grading:
Best 6 out of 8 Quizzes
Best 5 out of 7 Homework assignments
Weighting of Grades:
Quizzes: 50%
Homework 25%
Take-Home Final 25%